Skip to main content

IMCS Network Welcomes SPRFMO

Jack Mackerel school

The South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO) joins Network’s growing membership of more than 70 national, regional and international organizations and agencies. 

SPRFMO is an inter-governmental organisation that is committed to the long-term conservation and sustainable use of the fishery resources of the South Pacific Ocean and in so doing safeguarding the marine ecosystems in which the resources occur. The SPRFMO Convention applies to the high seas of the South Pacific, covering about a fourth of the Earth's high seas areas. Currently, the main commercial resources fished in the SPRFMO Convention Area are jack mackerel and jumbo flying squid in the Southeast Pacific and, to a much lesser degree, deep-sea species often associated with seamounts in the Southwest Pacific. SPRFMO’s membership will strengthen our engagement in the region including with countries that are part of both organizations. This will provide opportunities for collaboration and knowledge-sharing to enhance responses to IUU fishing and to focus collective MCS efforts.

“We look forward to partnering with SPRFMO in the fight against IUU fishing and to facilitate the work of the recently formed informal Pan-Pacific Fisheries Compliance Network (PPFCN) which is currently chaired by the SPRFMO Compliance Manager, Mr Randy Jenkins”.

Mark Young, Executive Director, IMCS Network. 

The Pan-Pacific Fisheries Compliance Network (PPFCN) was established in 2020 to promote communication and cooperation between the RFMOs that have overlapping waters in the Pacific Ocean region. The PPFCN is an informal forum to share information about MCS processes and compliance best practice. The PPFCN also provides and effective and efficient means of sharing relevant data and information between the Pan-Pacific RFMOs. The PPFCN is hosted within the IMCS Network and includes officers responsible for compliance in the RFMOs that have overlapping waters in the Pacific Ocean region.

Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Living Marine Resources (CCAMLR)
Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna (CCSBT)
Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)
North Pacific Fisheries Commission (NPFC)
North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission (NPAFC) 
South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO)
Western Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC)   

Published 23 Mar 2022